July 11th Art Hop, Kalamazoo, MI

During my Upper World journey, I found that my Wisdom Teacher was my Aunt Shirley McGath-McCurdy. Our connection when she was alive was eerily uncanny. I was a little girl, then a teenager, then she was dead when I was 15. With her death came what seemed to be a transmigration, our likenesses gathering strength in look, mind, and heart as I got older.

My Ohio Lonely exhibit at the Art hop at FIRE in Kalamazoo, Michigan on Friday, July 11th, are collages and photographs that are genealogical in nature. These are an extension of the meditative study I have been in while writing the poems that accompany the artwork. This particular piece is a study of the connection I have with my aunt, as well as a symbolic representation of our shared illness.

For more info on the exhibit and the Art Hop, please visit my website: http://www.carriemcgath.com

Published in: on June 26, 2008 at 8:30 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://anhedoniapoetry.wordpress.com/2008/06/26/july-11th-art-hop-kalamazoo-mi/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

