Hawthorne Street, PDX: Damp & Delicate

Still missing Portland, but greatly enjoyed my evening at The Livery in Benton Harbor, Michigan on Wednesday. I had an appreciative and attentive audience (even though it was small: quality, not quantity) and sold some books. I met some very talented and interesting poets I hope to see there next month. The Livery slams are the 1st Wednesday of each month, 8p-10p. More info available at: http://www.kzooslam.org/liveryslam.php

My next feature reading is at Fire (1249 Portage St., Kalamazoo) on Friday, June 22nd at 8:30. My book will be for sale for $14 and can be signed.

And as for Portland … it invaded my dreams last night. I was walking on Hawthorne. There were lots of people, more than there ever was on the streets at any given time. But those creatures again … wandering, following me … sea creatures walking on pavement, taunting and threatening me as they always do. I get sick of feeling bad about myself so much because of all of these extraneous elements. I know it was just a dream … a recurring one just in a different environment. I was trying to get somewhere in a hurry and they were distracting me from my purpose and holding me back. And Freud would have a field day with the cigar I was chewing on and the sword at my hip.

And the solitude I felt I needed is beginning to feel empty. I want the aftermath of people again. My books have suddenly become so quiet. But I have flamenco guitar to look forward to tomorrow. And the consequences of my constant crossroads … Hawthorne Street and my hollowing heart.

Published in: on June 8, 2007 at 4:49 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://anhedoniapoetry.wordpress.com/2007/06/08/hawthorne-street-pdx-damp-delicate/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. perhaps the emptiness being felt is a result of self-appointed quest for “Truth & Beauty”. some might say that truth & beauty are not artifacts to be discovered, but rather elements that are created through action and contribution. if turned into an introverted quest, then the quest manifests as an attempt at making oneself relevant to the world, assigning an imaginary importance to an otherwise uninvolved existence.

    truth and beauty are all around us, brought to existence both by nature and by the goodwill of those people who create it. the emptiness dissipates as one realizes that truth & beauty are created, not found.

    a devoted librarian that helps a young teen find joy in the escape of crafts, hobbies, or reading, is creating truth & beauty. the smiles, laughs, and hugs are evidence that truth & beauty have been created.

    waiting for money to fall from the sky is a silly lonely existence.

  2. Blah. But well said.


Leave a Reply

